Lissa Explains it All:  Web Design Forums  

Go Back   Lissa Explains it All: Web Design Forums > Web Site Help > HTML Help

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-04-2009, 12:59 PM
Raina004 Raina004 is offline
n00bzilla
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7
Raina004 is on a distinguished road
Why is the border not showing up in Firefox?

Hello! First post!

Anyway, I have been working on this layout for a while (I am NOT a web design expert by any means, I have to admit), and when I uploaded it to my webhost, I noticed that the borders dont show up in Firefox, which is my main browser, but it shows up in Internet Explorer, which I don't use.

Is there anyway I can change the code so that the borders show up in Firefix as well?

Many thanks!


The url is http://florezfans.net/index1.html

Check it out in both browsers.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-04-2009, 01:25 PM
Girl Girl is offline
n00bzilla
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 41
Girl is on a distinguished road
I'm not very good with this stuff, but I think I know why it's not working in Firefox.

I viewed your page in Chrome and IE, and the border worked in both. The border style tag is not a valid tag, so Firefox doesn't recognize it. I think you need to style the table borders in the style sheet, not the html.

There's a site here that shows you how to do that:

http://www.somacon.com/p141.php

Try it out
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-04-2009, 04:09 PM
b3ns b3ns is offline
n00bzilla
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11
b3ns is on a distinguished road
Quote:
<body bgcolor="#c0c0c0" text="#000000" link="#ffffff" vlink="#ffffff" alink="#000000" bgproperties="fixed">
<center>
<font size="2" face="tahoma,verdana">

<div align="center">

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" HEIGHT="100%" CELLSPACING="4" CELLPADDING="4" BORDER="0" SYTLE="border: 1 dashed #000000">
<TR>
<TD Height="30%" Colspan="3" Align="center" style="border: 1 dotted #000000"><img src="http://florezfans.net/florezfans.jpg"></TD>
</TR>
<TR>
The part bolded is most probably your problem. The style attribute is an inline CSS style sheet. border: 1 isn't referencing to a "width size" - and I guess IE has a default size type such as pixels when you don't specify it. For instance, in a Microsoft Word document you can specify different text sizes, such as 12pt, and "pt" is a type of size. and the number references to those different sizes. The same is when applying border sizes. Most commonly we use px which stands for pixels, so change border: 1 dashed #000000 with border: 1px dashed #000000 - if you want a thicker border, add something like 6px, and so on.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-05-2009, 02:51 AM
Raina004 Raina004 is offline
n00bzilla
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7
Raina004 is on a distinguished road
Thank you!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sidebar Showing Up In Firefox randomdudess Neopets 1 06-24-2006 08:30 PM
My border isnt showing up Red hot salsa MySpace 4 12-18-2005 05:43 PM
Background not showing properly in Firefox unique_name24601 Neopets 1 10-23-2005 09:18 PM
CSS Bottom Border Width Problem in Firefox SnowLeopard CSS 3 06-12-2005 12:14 AM
Comments!! KristinDaBomb Xanga 12 07-20-2004 07:29 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.